Apple published a press release
announcing an update to the Apple TV
4K, which now comes in two configurations that offer different storage capacities and network connectivity. The
Apple TV HD is no longer available on Apple’s online store.

Source: Apple

The Apple TV 4K has been updated with an A15 Bionic chip and support for HDR10+, which is part of tvOS
16. The base configuration, which is $129, has 64GB of storage and is WiFi-only. The other model adds Gigabit
Ethernet and has 128GB of storage for $149. The top-tier Apple TV 4K supports Thread, which allows it to serve
as a smart home hub for Matter devices too.


CPU performance is now up to 50 percent faster than the previous generation, delivering greater
responsiveness, faster navigation, and snappier UI animations. GPU performance is now up to 30 percent
faster than the previous generation for even smoother gameplay.

The Siri Remote now charges via USB-C.
The Siri Remote now charges via USB-C.
The Siri Remote now charges via USB-C.
The Siri Remote now charges via USB-C.

The Siri Remote has remained mostly the same, except it has added USB-C charging in place of the previous
model’s Lightning port. The Siri Remote is included with the Apple TV but can be purchased separately for

Overall, the changes to the Apple TV 4K are fairly minor, notwithstanding the snappier UI the A15 Bionic
enables. I don’t see a good reason for most people to upgrade from a previous generation Apple TV 4K
unless you play a lot of games on the Apple TV and have run into storage limits. If you have an Apple TV HD
before and are planning on buying a 4K TV, the new model will save you some money and offer a few new perks.
Although it’s a shame that Ethernet is only available in the more expensive configuration, that’s
probably part of how the cost of the base model has been brought down, and I’m sure most people connect
their Apple TVs via WiFi anyway.

The new Apple TV 4K is available for pre-order now, with deliveries beginning on Friday, November 4th in
30 countries, including the US.


Source link